Tags

,

Look at the verse below. Jesus said if You deny Him, You will also be denied before His Father in heaven

Matthew 10:33 (LEB)

33 But whoever denies me before people, I also will deny him before my Father who is in heaven.

Peter said to Jesus “I will not deny You, even if I die with you”

Matthew 26:33-35 (LEB)

33 But Peter answered and said to him, “If they all fall away because of you, I will never fall away!” 34 Jesus said to him, “Truly I say to you that during this night, before the rooster crows, you will deny me three times!” 35 Peter said to him, “Even if it is necessary for me to die with you, I will never deny you!” And all the disciples said the same thing.

After talking to His disciples, Jesus went to Pray in the garden of Gethsemane bringing Peter with him along with some others

MATTHEW 26:40-44 (LEB)

40 And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping, and he said to Peter, “So, were you not able to stay awake with me one hour? 41 Stay awake and pray that you will not enter into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak!” 42 Again for the second time he went away and prayed, saying, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will must be done.” 43 And he came again and found them sleeping, for they could not keep their eyes open. 44 And leaving them again, he went away and prayed for the third time, saying the same thing again.

Jesus advices Peter to stay awake and to pray. But instead, Jesus found Him sleeping. Three (3) times, fervently Jesus said the same thing to Peter and consistently He was found asleep. Notice Peter mentioned consistently.

After Jesus was arrested, Peter secretly followed Jesus as He was brought to his arrestor. Can You guess what happened next?

Matthew 26:69-75 (LEB)

69 Now Peter was sitting outside in the courtyard, and a female slave came up to him and said, “You also were with Jesus the Galilean.” 70 But he denied it in the presence of them all, saying, “I do not know what you mean!” 71 And when he went out to the gateway, another female slave saw him and said to those who were there, “This man was with Jesus the Nazarene.” 72 And again he denied it with an oath, “I do not know the man!” 73 And after a little while those who were standing there came up and said to Peter, “You really are one of them also, because even your accent reveals who you are.” 74 Then he began to curse and to swear with an oath, “I do not know the man!” And immediately a rooster crowed. 75 And Peter remembered the statement Jesus had said, “Before the rooster crows, you will deny me three times,” and he went outside and wept bitterly.

Peter denied Jesus. Not once, not twice but Three (3) times

 

Never Say “I Will Never”

When Jesus denies someone before His Father in heaven, does it mean the person is denied entry to heaven as well? The answer is a big YES! “… No one comes to the Father except by Me (Jesus)” (john 14:6).

Question. Is Peter now in heaven? If so, How come? He denied Jesus three times. Remember?

Prior to Jesus death at the cross, all the disciples were under Law. In fact, All man are under the Law before Jesus’s death at the cross.

 

Name Typology

John means God is gracious : Grace
James means supplant or supersede : Replace
Peter means stone or rock : Law

 

The Transfiguration Of Jesus

Matthew 17:1-9 (LEB)

1 And after six days Jesus took along Peter and James and John his brother, and led them up on a high mountain by themselves. 2 And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothing became bright as the light.3 And behold, Moses and Elijah appeared to them, talking with him. 4 So Peter answered and said to Jesus, “Lord, it is good that we are here! If you want, I will make here three shelters, one for you and one for Moses and one for Elijah.” 5 While he was still speaking, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and behold, a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased. Listen to him!” 6 And when the disciples heard this, they fell down on their faces and were extremely frightened. 7 And Jesus came and touched them and said, “Get up and do not be afraid.” 8 And when they lifted up their eyes they saw no one except him—Jesus alone. 9 And as they were coming down from the mountain, Jesus commanded them saying, “Tell no one the vision until the Son of Man is raised from the dead.”

In the transfiguration of Jesus, Moses and Elijah was present. We know that Moses received the Law from God. Elijah was replaced by Elisha (means God is my salvation).

In essence, in the transfiguration – The Law (Peter, Moses) was Replaced (James, Elijah) by Grace (Jesus, John)

I would like to make a point on v9. “Tell no one the vision until the Son of Man is raised from the dead.” Because only when Jesus is raised from the dead the New Covenant (Grace) will take its place

 

The Prayer In Gethsemane

Matthew 26:36-40 (LEB)

36 Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to the disciples, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 And taking along Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be distressed and troubled.

The sons of Zebedee are James and John (Matthew 10:2), The Law has been Replaced by Grace

Wow! It is as if Jesus is emphasizing, Grace to obsolete the Law

Hebrews 8:13 (LEB)

13 In calling it new, he has declared the former to be old. Now what is becoming obsolete and growing old is near to disappearing

 

Peter Restored 3 Times

John 21:15-17 (LEB)
15 Now when they had eaten breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs!”

16 He said to him again a second time, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Shepherd my sheep!”

17 He said to him a third time, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was distressed because he said to him a third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything! You know that I love you!” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep!

 

Curious about the word Love? Let’s see it in the original Greek using interlinear (John 21:15, John 21:16, John 21:17). For brevity sake I am omitting some statements.

John 21:15-17
15 Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love (agapáō) me more than these?” Peter said to Jesus, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love (philéō) you.”  He said to him, “Feed my lambs!”

16 Jesus said to Peter again a second time, “Simon son of John, do you love (agapáō) me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love (philéō) you.” He said to him, “Shepherd my sheep!”

17 Jesus said to Peter a third time, “Simon son of John, do you love (philéō) me?” Peter was distressed because Jesus said to him a third time, “Do you love (philéō) me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything! You know that I love (philéō) you!” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep!

 

agapáō – GOD’s LOVE, DIVINE love
philéō – human love

 

Jesus was in essence telling Peter – Can You love me like I love you? Jesus love for Us is greater than our love for Him. Peter learned his lesson. Never boast of your love to God, but rather boast of God’s love for You!

Jesus did not reminded Peter of His sins. Nor did Peter confess his sins. Jesus has forgiven us all our sins! You see varying message in the conversation is here “Feed my lambs”, “Shepherd my sheep”, “Feed my sheep”. The strong emphasis is here “God’s love (agapáō)”, “Not Your Love (philéō)

 

Grace Is The Gospel

Matthew 17:9 (LEB)

9 And as they were coming down from the mountain, Jesus commanded them saying, “Tell no one the vision until the Son of Man is raised from the dead.”

Jesus has risen from the dead! Now we can tell everyone the good news. You we are no longer under bondage (the Law) but under his Grace

Galatians 5:1 (LEB)
1 For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, therefore, and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery.

 

 

Forgive Because You Have Been Forgiven

Under the Old covenant, You are demanded to forgive. Otherwise You won’t be forgiven

Luke 6:37 (LEB)

37 “And do not judge, and you will never be judged. And do not condemn, and you will never be condemned. Pardon, and you will be pardoned.

Under the New covenant, Forgive because You have been forgiven!

Ephesians 4:32 (LEB)

32 Become kind toward one another, compassionate, forgiving one another, just as also God in Christ has forgiven you.

